Sara: “Hello… I’m calling from California. What time does your office close?”

East Coast Government Office: “What time is it there?”

Sara: “I just need to know what time your office closes.”

East Coast Government Office: “Well, I need to know what time it is there, first.”

Sara: “Why?”

East Coast Government Office: “So I can tell you when we close in your time.”

Sara: “If you tell me when you close, I can figure it out. There’s a three-hour time difference.”

East Coast Government Office: “Where are you calling from again?”

Sara: “California… the West Coast.”

East Coast Government Office: “So what time is it there?”

Sara: “It’s 1:45 in the afternoon.”

East Coast Government Office: “So you’re behind us?”

Sara: “Yes… by three hours.”

East Coast Government Office: “Well, we close at 5:00 your time.”

Sara: “So you’re open until 8:00 in the evening?”

East Coast Government Office: “No! Don’t you get it?! When it’s 5:00 there, we’ll be closed!”

